Share on Pinterest

The climatic finish to the 2014 Samsung Galaxy ASP World Championship Tour finally got underway at what’s being dubbed by the ASP as “the most dramatic day in the 44-year storied history of the Pipe Masters.”
The day ran from round three into the finals, seeing 20-year-old Gabriel Medina taking the first ASP men’s world surfing title for Brazil – with inspired performances and the event’s only perfect 10.
Not only did we see Medina crowned World Title, Julian Wilson took the win at the event and the Vans Triple Crown of surfing.

Medina surfed a total of five 30 minute heats, while event winner, Julian Wilson, surfed six during the eight hour day.
“Winning the World Title was my dream and now it’s reality — I’m seriously shocked,” Medina said. “Brazil is partying right now I think. I’m thankful to be part of this, a lot of guys are trying to do this and I feel honoured to be the one. I don’t know why it’s me but I’m really happy it is and I’m so proud to be Brazilian.

This year has been great. I never imagined that I would win Snapper, Fiji, and Teahupoo. I really wanted to win Pipe but Julian took me down, but I’m so happy right now. I’m honoured to have been in this battle against Mick and Kelly. I’ve alway looked up to them and they’ve inspired me since I was a little grom. I can’t believe I just beat them, it’s the best day of my life.”

Wilson took the win at the Billabong Pipe Masters today after taking down World Champion elect Medina in the finals. The victory marks Wilson’s greatest result of the year and puts him at 14th in the world rankings, giving him a solid start for 2015.
“It was an incredible day and I’m honestly speechless,” said Wilson. “Words can’t describe, I don’t even know how to feel yet. To win the Pipe Masters in good waves and having been out in the water for three heats in a row is amazing. I just found a groove and me and Gabriel got to duel it out — that’s what it’s all about.”

Medina claimed world championship today but fell short of the event win

Alejo Muniz was an important factor in Medina’s World Title, he eliminated both title contenders, Mick Fanning and Kelly Slater, from competition. Fanning was taken down in round five, while Slater exited as early as round three. Muniz was defeated in the quarterfinals at the hands of Adrian Buchan.

“It’s amazing you know, Gabriel’s championship, his happiness, it means a lot to everyone,” said Muniz. “You can heat the crowd. It’s a special day for me too. To surf against Kelly and Mick and make those heats was incredible. I’ve never surfed against Kelly man-on-man before so I was thanking God that I got the chance in my last event on the world tour this year. All I wanted to do was help Gabriel as much as I could and I’m just happy to be a part of it.”

Fanning’s round five loss ended any hopes he had of a fourth world title and sees him take home a 9th place finish at Pipe, and second place in the world rankings.

Gabriel Medina took home the first World Title for Brazil

Although Medina’s round three win over Dusty Payne saw Slater leave competition, the 7-time Pipe Master was still in contention for the event win — that was until a last minute 9.50 from Muniz saw him steal the win from the 11-time ASP World Champ.

“Mick is probably one of the greatest competitors,” said Slater. “Gabriel is starting to be. I probably made two mistakes in that heat and it cost me because there weren’t a lot of opportunities.”



Billabong Pipe Masters Final Results:

1 – Julian Wilson (AUS) 19.63
2 – Gabriel Medina (BRA) 19.20

Billabong Pipe Masters Semi final Results (1st to Final, 2nd = 3rd):
Semifinal 1: Gabriel Medina (BRA) 13.60 def. Josh Kerr (AUS) 9.43
Semifinal 2: Julian Wilson (AUS) 13.16 def.Adrian Buchan (AUS) 3.17

Billabong Pipe Masters Quarterfinal Results (1st to SF, 2nd = 5th):

Quarterfinal 1: Gabriel Medina (BRA) 4.30 def. Filipe Toledo (BRA) 3.27
Quarterfinal 2: Josh Kerr (AUS) 6.00 def. John John Florence (HAW) 4.04
Quarterfinal 3: Adrian Buchan (AUS) 12.17 def. Alejo Muniz (BRA) 3.77
Quarterfinal 4: Julian Wilson (AUS) 17.83 def. Kai Otton (AUS) 2.77

Billabong Pipe Masters Round 5 Results (1st to QF, 2nd = 9th):
Heat 1: Filipe Toledo (BRA)14.66 def. Owen Wright (AUS) 3.84
Heat 2: Josh Kerr (AUS) 14.00 def. Michel Bourez (PYF) 10.84
Heat 3: Alejo Muniz (BRA) 6.53 def. Mick Fanning (AUS) 2.84
Heat 4: Julian Wilson (AUS) 17.46 def. Sebastien Zietz (HAW) 10.34

Billabong Pipe Masters Round 4 Results (1st to QF, 2nd & 3rd to R5):
Heat 1: John John Florence (HAW) 6.74, Michel Bourez (PYF) 6.40, Owen Wright (AUS) 5.93
Heat 2: Gabriel Medina (BRA) 15.67, Filipe Toledo (BRA) 15.23, Josh Kerr (AUS) 4.97
Heat 3: Adrian Buchan (AUS) 6.86, Mick Fanning (AUS) 6.47, Julian Wilson (AUS) 6.43
Heat 4: Kai Otton (AUS) 7.06, Sebastien Zietz (HAW) 4.54, Alejo Muniz (BRA) 1.27

Billabong Pipe Masters Round 3 Results (1st to R4, 2nd = 13th):
Heat 1: John John Florence (HAW) 16.33 def. Adam Melling (AUS) 12.16
Heat 2: Owen Wright (AUS) 12.20 def. Fredrick Patacchia (HAW) 11.17
Heat 3: Michel Bourez (PYF) 9.67 def. Matt Wilkinson (AUS) 7.00
Heat 4: Josh Kerr (AUS) 10.50 def. Jadson Andre (BRA) 7.87
Heat 5: Filipe Toledo (BRA) 12.17 def. Miguel Pupo (BRA) 5.17
Heat 6: Gabriel Medina (BRA) 17.66 def. Dusty Payne (HAW) 11.84
Heat 7: Julian Wilson (AUS) 9.40 def. Kolohe Andino (HAW) 1.40
Heat 8: Adrian Buchan (AUS) 11.53 def. Bede Durbidge (AUS) 1.33
Heat 9: Mick Fanning (AUS) 10.84 def. Jeremy Flores (FRA) 7.67
Heat 10: Sebastien Zietz (HAW) 8.93 def. Joel Parkinson (AUS) 6.76
Heat 11: Kai Otton (AUS)10.67 def. Nat Young (USA) 9.44
Heat 12: Alejo Muniz (BRA) 15.50 def. Kelly Slater (USA) 13.10

Words Louis Hall @LHall69

To view the highlights and coverage from the earlier rounds click here

Share on Pinterest
1 2 3